Connected Accounts is used to connect two (or more) separate ContentKing accounts and is typically used by agencies to collaborate with clients having their own ContentKing account.
There are two ways in which you can collaborate with your clients in ContentKing:
- Collaboration within one account by inviting new users
- Cross-account collaboration using the Connected Accounts feature
The Connected Accounts feature is primarily designed for collaboration between agencies and clients, each of whom have their own, independent ContentKing account.
You can read more about the differences between these two collaboration methods in this dedicated article: How agencies can collaborate with their clients in ContentKing.
Using Connected Accounts
The sections below describe the aspects of the Connected Accounts feature and include instructions on how to set up the connection between two accounts.
The connection between two accounts can be initiated by both the agency and the client.
However, the connection is only one-directional: users in the agency account can access the connected account, but the users in the connected account cannot access the agency account.
After connecting two ContentKing accounts, the agency gains access to the client account with the following rights:
- Access all website data in the client account
- Manage websites and settings in the client account
- Invite new team members to the client account
As described in the previous section, the connection between two accounts is only one-directional.
However, you can change the connection direction in your account and determine whether you will be able to connect to (multiple) client accounts or whether you will be able to provide your agency with access to your account.
To change this setting, follow these steps:
If you want to be able to manage your clients’ accounts, set This account can request access to other accounts.
If you want to provide your agency with access to your account, set Other accounts can request access to this account.
Setting up the connection
The connection can be initiated by both the agency and the client.
Connection request by the client
Follow these steps:
The agency will now receive an email which they need to accept to establish the connection.
Connection request by the agency
When you – as an agency – want to connect to your client’s account, you can choose between two options:
- Connect to an existing ContentKing account (in case your client is already using ContentKing)
- Create a new trial account for your client (in case they don’t have an account yet)
To connect to your client’s existing ContentKing account, follow these steps:
The client will now receive an email which they need to accept to establish the connection.
If your client doesn’t have an account yet, you can create a new trial for them:
This will create a new ContentKing trial account with the website that you enter.
The email address you entered will be added as a user and receive an invitation to access the account. They will be able to manage the account, add websites and invite other users.
You will also immediately get access to the account, and be able to manage it in the same way as your own account.
Managing connected accounts from the agency account
Once you have connected at least one client account, an account switcher will appear for you next to the Websites tab in the Account section:
You can use this button to switch between all your connected accounts as well as to create new accounts.
In the Connected Accounts tab you can find an overview of all connected clients together with their connection status:
Also, the client’s websites will appear in your website switcher on the left-side of the screen, where you can easily switch between the websites in your agency account and the websites in your client’s accounts:
Same as with initiating the connection between two accounts, it can also be revoked by any of the two sides.
Revoking access by the client
To revoke your agency’s access to your account, follow these steps:
Removing access by the agency
To remove the connection with your client’s account follow these steps:
If you need a hand configuring the Connected Accounts feature, don’t hesitate to contact us and we will be happy to help!